Search (string or RegEx?)

Eric

Beta Tester
I'm studying II Timothy 1:3. I would like to know if the Greek word ἀπὸ (G575) is ever translated as "as" in the KJV. Using F2's normal search of KJVSL, if I search for just the Greek word (i.e. "G575"), I get 671 matches – too many to sort through quickly. If I use the same normal search and look for "as G575" (having selected the option to find a hit if all the words are present), I get 150 hits, still hardly convenient, since it shows any verse that contains G575 and "as", but that doesn't mean the G575 is translated as "as" there. So I thought I'd try the Character String Search tab. I searched for "as <a href="swordsearcher://strongs/g575">G575</a>". I got no hits. That either means there are no cases in the KJV where G575 is translated as "as", or it means I didn't search correctly. I have a hunch the search is not formulated correctly, since I also can't find "from <a href="swordsearcher://strongs/g575">G575</a>", but that string, it seems to me, should be in the KJVSL module for II Timothy 1:3, since there G575 is translated as "from". Is there a better way to do this search? Maybe I need to use RegEx? Any advice is welcome! Thank you.

After I posted the above post, I thought maybe I could just search for "as" in the Search > English-Strong's Indexer (Ctrl-F2), but I found an interesting thing: It will not allow me to search for the word "as". I have previously searched for "assembly", and now when I search for "as", the field is filled in with "assembly" automatically. I'm wondering if this is some kind of bug, since I also searched for "greatly" and then I cannot search for "great". I'm running version 6.2.1.2.

You can not search for an html string in a Bible. The data is not stored or processed that way.