Foreign language Bibles/books?

Eric

Beta Tester
Hello, everyone!
I'm new to SwordSearcher, and I like it. Great program! I purchased SS with some Way of Life books (D. Cloud). I still use Online Bible also (since I'm used to it) as well as two programs for Lithuanian Bibles. So...I've not had time to get a handle on all SS does.

As a missionary, I'd love to be able to have several foreign language Bible versions (same language, different translations) in SS. Can it be done? How? Can I include only a small portion of the Bible (that part I've already translated)?

Also, if I were to format a foreign language book for SS, would I have to change all the Bible references so they work as links? Or could there be some file created that a given foreign book links to that would convert, say, Iz 53:6 (or Izaijo 53:6) to Is 53:6?

I'd love to hear from any missionaries to non-English speaking people that have experience with any of this (as well as from the rest of you :) ).

Thank you,
Eric

As a missionary, I'd love to be able to have several foreign language Bible versions (same language, different translations) in SS. Can it be done? How? Can I include only a small portion of the Bible (that part I've already translated)?

You can use Forge to build Bible modules for SwordSearcher, and they can be partial. Instructions on using Forge are included in the Forge download.

Also, if I were to format a foreign language book for SS, would I have to change all the Bible references so they work as links? Or could there be some file created that a given foreign book links to that would convert, say, Iz 53:6 (or Izaijo 53:6) to Is 53:6?

You would need to use the standard English book names and abbreviations.

Hi, Brandon, and thanks for the info. If what I'm asking for is too much (since Forge is not supported for free), I won't take it personally if you don't answer.