question

wsbones

Beta Tester
Brandon, you probably can answer this. Is it legal to create SS links to maps from another software package.

Specifically, Bible Explorer is a copyrighted but free download along with the free map module. I don't use Bible Explorer, but I like their maps. I have linked my Atlas module to their maps and added some lookup hotspots all within SS. I assume this is OK for my use, but can it be distributed to other people who also have downloaded this software?

Thanks.

I think it's fine as long as you are not distributing their copyrighted content. Making links to other material is not, as far as I know, in any way encumbered by copyright. After all, that's what the Internet is all about. As long as you are only making your own link module available, not distributing their stuff, I would think there is no problem.

I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice. ;)

I found some really nice maps that I have incorporated into my Bible atlas. I added hot spot links to the maps to look up material in the SS topic and verse guide They are available by downloading the free Bible Explorer software and then downloading the free map module once Bible Explorer is installed.

They are available at http://www.bible-explorer.com/

The maps are in .PNG format. Since they are part of a copyright package, even though it's free, I can't give them out directly. If you want to download and install the package yourself then the latest Atlas should work for you. When you download and install Bible Explorer under Vista OS, it puts the maps in the following hidden directory:

C:\ProgramData\WORDsearch\Library\Maps\Linked\images\

My Atlas module assumes the maps will be there. If they are somewhere else, the links will not work. You will then have to either find and move the maps to the above location, or edit the links in the SS topics of Atlas that call the map files.

The new Atlas module installer is available here (about 30MB):